Sunday 16th July saw the top 12 National League teams and the 8 Super League teams come together at University of Nottingham for the final competition of the 2022/23 season.


The teams who had qualified for the National League finals were:

North West A North West B North West C West
Bury Boccia Bears Blackpool Boccia Flyers Kirkbees Bullets

The GEMS (GEM Boccia)

Central A Central B East Anglia A East Anglia B

Sheffield Steelers (Boccia Sheffield)

Team Spirit (Nottinghamshire Boccia Club) Breakaways (Uttlesford Boccia Club) Peterborough Boccia Stars
South A South B Kent A Kent B

Farnham Fireballs

Bexley Superstars Herne Bay Herons


After five rounds of matches, the final places were decided. Congratulations to The GEMS (GEM Boccia), who took the title of National League champions and have qualified for the 2023/24 Super League season.

Final Standings

1st The GEMs
2nd The Breakaways
3rd Blackpool Boccia Flyers
4th Herne Bay Herons
5th Bury Boccia Bears
6th Bexley Superstars
7th Team Spirit
8th Kirkbees Bullets
9th Sheffield Steelers
10th Peterborough Boccia Stars
11th Farnham Fireballs
12th PACE B


We spoke to Tom, captain of The GEMs after the game. When asked what it means to the team to have won the National League and to qualify for the Super League, he told us:

It's brilliant, the hard work and practice has paid off!


The day also saw the Super League teams face off in the new finals day format. The new format consists of three fixture days to decide the fixtures for the quarter finals. Those winners of the quarter finals progress to the Cup semi-finals. For the team who lose their quarter-finals, they move into the Plate semi-finals.

The winners of the Super League Cup were Southern All Stars, beating Solent University Boccia in the final. The Plate winners were Pauls Place Vikings. Pauls Place Raiders were relegated from the Super League.

Photos taken on the day can be found online

A big thank you to our dedicated volunteers who supported us and who help us run these competitions.

Head Referee - Steve Furber

Officials - Jackie Potts, Terry Fearn, Pam Johnston, Kirsty Bean, Jan Mulligan, Karen Walsh-Horne, John Walsh-Horne, Jacky Woods and Rob West.

Time Keepers - Caitlyn Beardsmoore, Reneta Cassia, Hamza Tran, Ngoc Tran, Rachel Ross, Karen Pearson, Rebecca Hallam, Natasha Critchley, Kshitij Hukku, Debora Mafoua, Qiancheng Li, Jingxuan Wang, Rebecca Gransbury, Rupesh Sashte, Clara Mulligan, Nathalie Mulligan and Ashleigh Walsh-Horne.

If volunteering sounds like something you would like to do for future events please contact [email protected].